In the box below you will find all the governing state statutes, mountain lion legal status, state laws, information about the state legislature, initiative and referendum processes, and the state wildlife agency, mountain lion management plans, mountain lion hunting laws, depredation laws, and other regulations as appropriate.
Generally, treatment of wildlife in the State of Arkansas is governed by the Arkansas Code – the state’s collection of all current laws passed by its legislature. Since our summary below may not be completely up to date, you should be sure to review the most current law for the State of Arkansas.
Arkansas does not maintain a state-managed website for the publication of its laws. Instead, the state contracts with a private company, LexisNexis, to publish its legal code online. The Arkansas Code can be found here.
These statutes are searchable.
Arkansas’ wildlife regulations can be found in the Arkansas Administrative Rules - the state’s collection of all its agencies’ rules. The regulations are set by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. In order to find the regulations, search for regulations by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission also maintains a helpful webpage that contains its regulations as they are updated.
The Arkansas General Assembly is the state’s bicameral law-making body. The lower chamber – the House of Representatives - is composed of 100 members who serve 2-year terms. Arkansas Representatives are limited to 3 terms. The upper chamber – the Senate - consists of 35 members who serve 4-year terms. Arkansas state senators may only serve 2 terms. If you do not know in which state legislative district you live, the state links to this to help you find your district. If you already know the names of your state legislators, you can contact your member of the Arkansas House of Representatives here and your state senator here.
State law requires the General Assembly to convene regular sessions at noon on the second Monday in January in each odd-numbered year. In even-numbered years, the legislature must meet at noon on the second Monday in February for a fiscal session. The Arkansas Constitution limits the duration of legislative sessions. Regular sessions may not exceed 60 calendar days unless two-thirds of the members of each chamber vote to extend the session. The regular session may not be extended beyond 75 calendar days unless three-fourths of the members of each chamber vote for the extension. Fiscal sessions may not exceed 30 calendar days unless three-fourths of the members of each chamber vote to extend the session. A fiscal session may be extended once for no more than 15 days.