In the box below you will find all the governing state statutes, mountain lion legal status, state laws, information about the state legislature, initiative and referendum processes, and the state wildlife agency, mountain lion management plans, mountain lion hunting laws, depredation laws, and other regulations as appropriate.
Generally, treatment of wildlife in the State of West Virginia is governed by the West Virginia Code – the state’s collection of all its current laws. Since our summary below may not be completely up to date, you should be sure to review the most current law for the State of West Virginia.
You can check the statutes directly at a state-managed website
These statutes are searchable.
West Virginia’s wildlife regulations can be found in the Natural Resources section of the West Virginia Code of State Rules. The state’s wildlife regulations are promulgated by the director of the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources and the West Virginia Natural Resources Commission.
The West Virginia Legislature is the state’s part-time law-making body. The lower chamber – the House of Delegates – consists of 100 members who serve 2-year terms. The upper chamber – the Senate – is made up of 34 members who serve 4-year terms. The Democratic Party has controlled both chambers since 1930. You may contact your West Virginia state delegate here and your state senator here.
The West Virginia Constitution requires the legislature to convene annually in regular sessions on the second Wednesday of January. Every fourth year after 1973, the legislature must organize itself before adjourning until the second Wednesday of February. Regular sessions during every fourth year after 1973 are limited to 60 calendar days including and after the second Wednesday in February. During all other years, regular sessions are limited to 60 calendar days including and after the second Tuesday in January. Regular sessions may be extended upon the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members of each legislative chamber. There does not appear to be a limit on either the length of an extension or the number of times a regular session may be extended. The governor may call a special legislative session when he or she believes it necessary or when three-fifths of the members of each legislative chamber request a special session. There does not appear to be a limit on the duration of special sessions.